Monday, March 25, 2019

Drakes Island's "Only Passing Through" carries the weight

On Drakes Island's track Only Passing Through (from the upcoming EP of the same name) guitar notes float and echo in space as mournful vocals drop the words. The open space is as important as the filled spaces and guitar leads and swells, shifting drums and potent bass lines build up the emotional weight. You get lost in it all and even feel a little drained after it is all over. 

Drakes Island are based out of Plymouth (UK) and are Fergus Tanner (vocals, guitar), Jamie Yost (lead guitar), Olly Parker (bass), and Matthew Gordon Price (drums).

Robb Donker

No comments:

Post a Comment