Friday, April 26, 2019

Model Citizen and the pop rock juggernaut "Magic Trick"

There is something about Model Citizen's big rich rock pop sound on Magic Trick that makes me think of some of the highly produced lush pop juggernaut bands like Toto or even Steely Dan. Bands that were built on learned players and studio musicians and the 18 piece Brooklyn based band centered around Mark Ciani (songwriter, producer, keys), Matt Musty (drums), Alvaro Kapaz (guitar), Ryan Gleason (bass), and engineer and co-producer Fernando Lodeiro also fuse together pop, rock, soul, funk, hard rock, R&B, blues and jazz through progressive filters. All the while keeping a heavy hooked pop rock motif in place. 

Robb Donker

No comments:

Post a Comment